Press Releases

APS issues press releases on research news, Society activities, and other physics tips.

To sign up to receive these releases, please contact James Riordon with your full name and media affiliation. Registered journalists will receive other tips and advisories that are not posted publicly in the archive. Those interested in policy and advocacy releases, please contact Tawanda Johnson.


Spring 2018 American Physical Society Prizes and Awards Announced
American Physical Society Announces 2017 Fellows
Gravitational Wave Pioneers Win 2017 Physics Nobel
Eugene Parker Wins 2018 APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research
APS & IOP Publishing Commit to ORCID Scheme
Ian Chapman Wins 2017 Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research
Six Researchers Share 2017 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research
Dmitri Ryutov Wins 2017 Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics
Detlef Lohse Wins 2017 Fluid Dynamics Prize
Jens Eggers Wins 2017 Stanley Corrsin Award for Fluid Dynamics Research
American Physical Society Joins the Initiative for Open Citations (I4OC)
Michael Thoennessen Appointed New APS Editor in Chief
Doctoral Physics Thesis Award Renamed in Honor of Deborah Jin
APS Opposes President Trump’s FY 18 Cuts To Science
American Physical Society Partners In $3 Million National Program To Increase Women Physics Majors
The Kavli Microbiome Ideas Challenge Funds Innovative, Cross-Cutting Research
APS and CERN Sign an Open Access Agreement for SCOAP3
APS Deeply Troubled by President Trump's FY18 Budget
Highly Trained STEM Teachers Needed to Boost America’s Global Competitiveness, According to New Study


Expand/Collapse 2016
Expand/Collapse 2015
Expand/Collapse 2014
Expand/Collapse 2013
Expand/Collapse 2012
Expand/Collapse 2011
Expand/Collapse 2010
Expand/Collapse 2009
Expand/Collapse 2008
Expand/Collapse 2007
Expand/Collapse 2006
Expand/Collapse 2005
Expand/Collapse 2004
Expand/Collapse 2003
Expand/Collapse 2002